Owen County Township Trustees

The duties of a township trustee include:
Providing for fire protection and ambulance service in unincorporated areas of the county.
Providing for poor relief and burial of the indigent.
Maintaining cemeteries and burial grounds.
Resolving fence disputes.
Investigating claims of livestock killed by dogs.
Controlling weeds and underbrush.
Managing the township budget and financial records.
Preparing an annual financial report.

The trustee and a three-member Township Board are all elected to four year terms. Duties of the board include adopting the annual budget, serving as a board of finance and approving township contracts. In January of each year, the trustee presents to the board an annual report showing the receipts, expenditures, investments and debts of the township. The approved report is then published in local papers for public inspection.

Owen County Townships

Current Trustees

Clay Township
Karen Sue Freeman
5663 State Road 43
Spencer, Indiana 47460

Franklin Township
Leroy O. Gentry
5725 Gentry Road
Freedom, Indiana 47431
812 829-2192

Harrison Township
Robert E. Janke
9827 Cooper Road
Gosport, Indiana 47433
812 879-4929

Jackson Township
Janet (Gandy) Paris
7751 Lower Cliff Road
Poland, Indiana 47868
812 986-2986

Jefferson Township
Mary F. Hochstetler
14693 Stockton Road
Coal City, Indiana 47427
812 859-4185

Jennings Township
Susan Nichols
10178 Buckskin Road
Poland, Indiana 47868
765 795-6546

Lafayette Township
Lois Bixler
6559 Vandalia Road
Spencer, Indiana 47460
812 859-3852

Marion Township
James J. Elliott
13700 Stephens Road
Bowling Green, Indiana
812 859-4192

Montgomery Township
Cheryl L. Cromer
3555 Rattlesnake Road
Spencer, Indiana 47460
812 829-4430

Morgan Township
Patricia A. Flowers
7101 Beamer Road
Poland, Indiana 47868
812 829-9583

Taylor Township
Mark A. McCammon
217 North Cataract Road
Cloverdale, Indiana 46120
765 795-2269

Washington Township
Patty Edwards
40 South East Street
Spencer, Indiana 47460
812 829-4098

Wayne Township
Kyle Hall